Prizewinning Reads

Looking for that next read and want the gold standard?

Browse these lists of major prizewinning books from the last decade. Click through to find a digital version or to place a hold on a print copy today.

The Booker Prize for Fiction

2024 Kairos Jenny Erpenbeck
2023Time Shelter by Georgi Gospodinov
The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida Shehan Karunatilaka
2021  The Promise Damon Galgut
2020  Shuggie Bain Douglas Stuart
2019  Girl, Woman, Other  Bernardine Evaristo
           The Testaments  Margaret Atwood
2018  Milkman  Anna Burns
2017  Lincoln in the Bardo  George Saunders
2016  The Sellout  Paul Beatty
2015  A Brief History of Seven Killings  Marlon James
2014  The Narrow Road to the Deep North   Richard Flanagan
2013  The Luminaries   Eleanor Catton
2012  Bring Up the Bodies   Hilary Mantel
2011  The Sense of an Ending   Julian Barnes

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

2024 Night Watch Jayne Anne Phillips
2023 Demon Copperhead Barbara Kingsolver
          Trust Hernan Diaz
2022 The Netanyahus Joshua Cohen
2021 The Night Watchman Louise Erdrich
2020 The Nickel Boys Colson Whitehead
2019 The Overstory Richard Powers
2018 Less: a novel Andrew Sean Greer
2017 The Underground Railroad Colson Whitehead
2016 The Sympathizer Viet Thanh Nguyen
2015 All the Light We Cannot See Anthony Doerr
2014 The Goldfinch Donna Tartt
2013 The Orphan Master's Son Adam Johnson
2012 (no award given)
2011 A Visit From the Goon Squad Jennifer Egan

NZ Book Awards - Fiction

2024 Lioness Emily Perkins
2023 The Axeman’s Carnival Catherine Chidgey
2022 Kurangaituku Whiti Hereaka
2021  Bug week : & other stories   Airini Beautrais
2020  Auē   Becky Manawatu
2019  This Mortal Boy   Fiona Kidman
2018  The New Animals   Pip Adam
2017  The Wish Child   Catherine Chidgey
2016  Coming Rain   Stephen Daisley
2015  (no award given)
2014  The Luminaries   Eleanor Catton
2013  The Big Music   Kirsty Gunn
2012  Rangatira   Paula Morris
2011  The Hut Builder   Laurence Fearnley

NZ Book Awards - General Non-Fiction

2024 An Indigenous Ocean: Pacific Essays Damon Salesa
2023 The English Text of the Treaty of Waitangi Ned Fletcher
2022 Voices from the New Zealand wars | he reo nō ngā pakanga o Aotearoa Vincent O'Malley
2021  The Dark is Light Enough: Ralph Hotere A Biographical Portrait Vincent O’Sullivan
2020  Dead People I Have Known  Shayne Carter
2019  Hudson and Halls: the Food of Love   Joanne Drayton
2018  Driving to Treblinka   Diana Wichtel
2017  Can You Tolerate This?   Ashleigh Young
2016  Maori Boy   Witi Ihimaera
2015  (no award given)
2014  Peter McLeavey: the Life and Times of a New Zealand Art Dealer   Jill Trevelyan
2013  Civilisation: Twenty Places on the Edge of the World   Steve Braunias
2012  Tupaia: The Remarkable Story of Captain Cook’s Polynesian Navigator   Joan Druett
011  Blue Smoke: The Lost Dawn of New Zealand Popular Music 1918–1964   Chris Bourke

Women's Prize for Fiction

2023  Demon Copperhead    Barbara Kingsolver
2022  The Book of Form and Emptiness    Ruth Ozeki
2021  Piranesi   Susanna Clarke
2020  Hamnet   Maggie O'Farrell
2019  An American Marriage   Tayari Jones
2018  Home Fire   Kamila Shamsie
2017  The Power   Naomi Alderman
2016  The Glorious Heresies   Lisa McInerney
2015  How to be Both   Ali Smith
2014  A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing   Eimear McBride
2013  May we be Forgiven   A.M. Holmes
2012  The Song of Achilles  Madeline Miller
011  The Tiger's Wife   Tea Obreht