What's New? The latest Children's Fiction from our eLibrary

Children’s Fiction


The Last Kids on Earth: June's Wild Flight by Max Brallier

Available via South Island Downloadable Zone/Libby as an eBook

Told from June’s point of view, June’s Wild Flight brings new characters, high-stakes action, and stunning revelations in an adventure that could only be June’s. An essential Last Kids story that readers won’t want to miss!

The Last Kids on Earth Series, Book 5.5


The Lemonade Crime by Jacqueline Davies

Available via South Island Downloadable Zone/Libby as an eBook

Following the laws of the legal system, Evan and Jessie’s fourth grade class concocts a courtroom on the playground, putting Scott Spencer, alleged thief, on trial. They create a legitimate courtroom - with a judge, witnesses, and a jury of their peers - and surprising consequences.
As she explores the difficulties of fairness, Jacqueline Davies once again reveals how good she is at understanding the complex emotions of children this age.

Lemonade War Series, Book 2


Mr Lemoncello's All-Star Breakout Game by Chris Grabenstein

Available via South Island Downloadable Zone/Libby as an eBook

Are you ready to play Mr. Lemoncello’s BIGGEST, most dazzling game yet? After months of anticipation, Mr. Lemoncello is taking his games out of the library and going LIVE across the nation on the world-famous Kidzapalooza Television Network! Everyone’s invited to audition, but only a lucky few will compete in front of millions of viewers in a completely immersive live-action breakout game - with real kids as the playing pieces! Each of the winning teams must make it through five different rooms by solving a puzzle to unlock each room and BREAK OUT! Can Kyle and his friends crack the codes in time to win Mr. Lemoncello’s ultimate game show?

Mr. Lemoncello Series, Book 4


 Mr Terupt Falls Again by Rob Buyea

 Available via South Island Downloadable Zone/Libby as an eBook

The warm-hearted sequel to Because of Mr. Terupt. Mr. Terupt’s class is spending one more year with him before they graduate. But for seven students, sixth grade comes with its own set of challenges. Peter's parents expect him to attend private school after sixth-grade, but Peter has plans to stay right where he is. Eager to grow up, Alexia gets in over her head with some older kids. Danielle suspects that her family is keeping a secret from her, and she's determined to find out what it is. Jeffrey makes a life-changing discovery. Curious about her teacher's past, Jessica uncovers startling details about Mr. Terupt. Anna finally decides she's ready for the truth about her absent dad. And Luke's keen observations lead to questions with unexpected answers.

Mr. Terupt Series, Book 2


One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Available via South Island Downloadable Zone/Libby as an eBook

Eleven-year-old Delphine is like a mother to her two younger sisters, Vonetta and Fern. She's had to be, ever since their mother, Cecile, left them seven years ago for a radical new life in California. But when the sisters arrive from Brooklyn to spend the summer with their mother, Cecile is nothing like they imagined. While the girls hope to go to Disneyland and meet Tinker Bell, their mother sends them to a day camp run by the Black Panthers. Unexpectedly, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern learn much about their family, their country, and themselves during one truly crazy summer.

One Crazy Summer Series, Book 1


The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson

Available via South Island Downloadable Zone/Libby as an eBook

When Candice finds a letter in an old attic in Lambert, South Carolina, she isn't sure she should read it. It's addressed to her grandmother, who left the town in shame. But the letter describes a young woman. An injustice that happened decades ago. A mystery enfolding its writer. And the fortune that awaits the person who solves the puzzle. So with the help of Brandon, the quiet boy across the street, she begins to decipher the clues. 


Warriors: The Broken Code - Veil of Shadows by Erin Hunter

Available via South Island Downloadable Zone/Libby as an eBook

After losing one of his nine lives, ThunderClan’s leader, Bramblestar, became intent on rooting out and exiling cats he claims are traitors to the warrior code. But some cats know the truth:  this isn’t the real Bramblestar, and their leader’s true spirit is desperate to return to its rightful place before the rising tension among the five Clans erupts into outright war.

Warriors: The Broken Code Series, Book 3

Wish by Barbara O’Connor

Available via South Island Downloadable Zone/Libby as an eBook

Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets
Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.


Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Wrecking Ball by Jeff Kinney

Available via South Island Downloadable Zone/Libby as an eAudiobook

An unexpected inheritance gives the Heffley family a chance to make major improvements to their home. But they soon find that construction isn't all it's cracked up to be. When things get rough, will the Heffleys be able to stay ... or will they be forced to move?

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series, Book 14